The headline arrived this week. Citadel veterans have raised US$10 million in pre-seed funding to launch a new CFD broker called Epic Markets. The founders' pedigree is a matter of public record. The dollar figure is a matter of public record. Everything else — regulatory jurisdiction of the operating entity, custody arrangements for client funds, order-flow model, target-market disclosures, dealing-desk architecture — is not. We are writing this before the licensing filings surface because Gulf retail readers are already asking whether to open accounts, and the questions arriving in our inbox reveal the same six misconceptions that recur every time an announcement of this shape circulates.
The desk holds no position on Epic Markets as an operator. We hold a firm position on how retail readers should parse an announcement of this shape. That is what follows.
Myth: "A US$10M pre-seed means the broker is well-capitalized enough to protect client funds."
The number is impressive as a venture round. It is trivial as a broker balance sheet. That is the first thing to internalise.
People believe this because they conflate two categories of capital. Pre-seed funding is corporate equity used to build the company — hire engineers, pay lawyers, procure liquidity relationships, cover the first eighteen months of burn before revenue. Client-funds custody is a separate question entirely, governed by segregation rules imposed by whichever regulator the operating entity ends up licensed under. The two balance sheets do not touch. A broker can hold US$10M in venture cash and simultaneously commingle client deposits with operational float if the license permits it. Whether the license permits it is a function of the jurisdiction, not the funding round.
The reality is that Gulf retail should read broker safety through the lens of the licensing document, not the press release. In Singapore, a Monetary Authority of Singapore capital-markets-services licence for a leveraged foreign-exchange broker requires a base capital of S$1 million and additional risk-based capital that scales with exposure. In London, an FCA-authorised matched-principal broker faces its own minimum capital requirement plus CASS client-money rules that segregate deposits in trust. A US$10M pre-seed sits above the S$1M MAS floor but below what a serious FCA matched-principal book requires once operational risk-weighting is applied. It is a founding cheque, not a solvency guarantee.
Practical implication: ignore the round size. Wait for the license number and the jurisdiction. Then look up the applicable client-money regime in that jurisdiction and read what happens to deposits in an insolvency scenario. That is the number that protects you.
Myth: "Founders from Citadel means the retail dealing desk will run institutional-grade execution."
This is the most emotionally sticky of the six, and the most dangerous.
People believe it because Citadel is genuinely a serious institution. Its market-making arm handles a substantial share of US retail equity flow. Its hedge-fund arm is one of the most sophisticated in the world. A founder emerging from that environment carries real technical credibility. The inference that "sophisticated founders → sophisticated retail broker" feels intuitive.
The reality is that institutional execution and retail CFD execution are structurally different businesses. A US market-maker earns on spread capture against millions of tiny, uncorrelated retail orders in a regulated venue with Reg NMS best-execution obligations. A retail CFD broker operates on the opposite architecture: it is the counterparty to the client's trade. Depending on the operating model — pure B-book, pure A-book, or hybrid — the broker's profit-and-loss can be structurally inverse to the client's. The founder's prior institutional pedigree tells you nothing about which model the new venture will adopt. That decision is set by the executive team building the retail business, the regulator's leverage ceilings, the target-market disclosure, and the cost of external liquidity in the operator's chosen currency corridors. None of those are visible in a pre-seed announcement.
Compare what a Singaporean retail trader sees when a new broker files with MAS: a public register entry, a statement of the licensed regulated activities, and — crucially — the ability to check whether the operator is listed for "dealing in capital markets products" specifically. A Gulf retail trader looking at a press release has none of that. The founder's LinkedIn is not a substitute for a licensing document.
Practical implication: the desk architecture question — do they run me B-book or A-book — is answered by the terms of service and the execution disclosures, not the founding team's résumé. Wait for those documents.
Myth: "A brand-new broker with a big round is safer than an established Gulf-facing operator with a smaller balance sheet."
New with money feels safer than old with less money. Both halves of that instinct are wrong.
People believe it because they read broker-comparison content that treats total funding raised as a proxy for stability. That framing exists because it is easy to write. The actual determinants of counterparty risk — how long the operator has been settling withdrawals without interruption, how the client-money accounts are structured, which regulator can compel restitution in a failure scenario, how deep the operator's liquidity relationships run — are harder to write about and require reading documents.
Consider the grounding. Exness was founded in 2008, holds FCA authorisation among other licences, and processes withdrawals at instant settlement speed according to the operator's own published data. AvaTrade was founded in 2006, holds ASIC and ADGM licences, and settles withdrawals in one to three days. Both entities have processed millions of client withdrawals through multiple market stress events — the 2015 Swiss franc unpegging, the 2020 pandemic volatility, the 2022 rate cycle. That withdrawal history is a data set. A pre-seed broker has none of it. The question is not whether the new operator will settle your first withdrawal. The question is what happens to your fourth withdrawal during a stress event in year two, when the venture-funded runway is thinner than the balance sheet the announcement implied.
A London-based hedge-fund seed-desk analyst reading the same announcement would not treat "US$10M raised" as a safety signal. They would treat it as an operational-runway signal — enough to build, insufficient to weather a serious client-funds event. Gulf retail readers deserve the same framework.
Practical implication: settled-withdrawal history and license register entries are the safety signal. Round size is the runway signal. Do not confuse the two.
Myth: "If the round closed in the US, the broker will be US-regulated — which is the strictest posture, so I'm covered."
This one dissolves the fastest under scrutiny, and yet it appears in nearly every inbox question we receive.
People believe it because the announcement mentioned Citadel and used dollar figures, which cues a mental image of a US-regulated entity subject to CFTC and NFA oversight. The image is almost certainly wrong. The US retail forex and CFD market is one of the most restrictive in the world. The CFTC caps retail forex leverage at 50:1 for major pairs and 20:1 for minors. CFDs on equities are prohibited to US retail entirely. The economics of building a retail CFD business under CFTC/NFA rules — for a firm targeting a global retail audience — are punishing enough that almost no new entrant in this category chooses that path.
The reality is that a pre-seed CFD broker announcing today will almost certainly operate under one or several offshore or European licences. Look at the licensing distribution in the grounding for context: Exness holds licences in Seychelles, Cyprus, South Africa, Curaçao, Kenya, Jordan, BVI, and Mauritius. FBS operates under ASIC, CySEC, and FSCA. FXTM holds FCA, FSCA, and FSC Mauritius. This is the standard shape for a globally-facing retail CFD operator: a tier-one licence for jurisdictional credibility, plus a set of offshore licences that host the operating book for the majority of international clients. The Gulf retail account you eventually open will almost certainly sit under one of the offshore entities, not the tier-one one, and the client-money rules that apply are the offshore ones.
Practical implication: when the license filings surface, read which entity you are contracting with — not which entity has the framed certificate on the founders' office wall. The account-opening agreement will name the entity. That name is what determines your protections.
Myth: "The founders' resumes tell me how the CFD dealing desk will actually behave with my orders."
This is a subtler version of the second myth, and it deserves its own treatment because it drives the account-opening decision more than the others.
People believe it because dealing-desk behaviour is invisible from the outside. Slippage, requotes, stop-hunting complaints, execution asymmetry on news events — these are the things retail traders worry about, and the only signal available before opening an account is the founding team's background. It is human to substitute the visible signal for the invisible one.
The reality is that dealing-desk behaviour is set by three things the retail trader can partially inspect and one they cannot. The three inspectable factors: the platform stack, the leverage offering, and the account tiers. The grounding gives a useful reference range — Exness offers 2000:1 maximum leverage with 0.1-pip pro spreads; FBS offers 3000:1 with 0.0-pip pro spreads on premium tiers; HF Markets offers 1000:1 with 0.0-pip pro spreads; AvaTrade sits at a more conservative 400:1. That leverage-and-spread combination reveals how the operator monetises. Ultra-high leverage with ultra-tight pro spreads on paper generally implies a heavier B-book component on the standard account tier, because the operator needs the internal cross to fund the pro-tier subsidy.
The uninspectable factor is the internal risk-management policy — which client segments get warehoused, which get hedged out to the liquidity provider, how the toxic-flow classifier is calibrated. That policy is written by the risk head, not the founding CEO, and it changes over time. No pre-seed announcement will disclose it. No launched broker will publish it. It is inferred from account-level experience over months of trading.
Practical implication: judge dealing-desk behaviour after ninety days of small-size live trading, not before the first deposit. The résumé tells you nothing that survives contact with the trading account.
Myth: "A new broker will price tighter than Exness or AvaTrade because it needs to win market share."
The land-grab logic. The launch-pricing logic. The Uber-in-2013 logic applied to a business that does not work like Uber in 2013.
People believe it because they have watched consumer-tech startups burn venture capital on subsidised customer acquisition and assume broker economics work the same way. They do not. A CFD broker's spread is not a price the operator sets in isolation — it is a markup over the wholesale price obtained from the operator's liquidity providers. That wholesale price scales with the operator's monthly notional volume: a broker doing US$50 billion in monthly flow gets substantially tighter LP quotes than one doing US$500 million. A new broker with a US$10M runway will not have the volume history to command the LP pricing that established operators achieve.
Look at the reference points in the grounding. Exness quotes 0.1-pip average pro spreads on EUR/USD, and 1.0-pip average on standard. FBS quotes 0.0-pip pro and 0.7-pip standard. HF Markets quotes 0.0-pip pro and 1.2-pip standard. FXTM quotes 0.1-pip pro and 1.5-pip standard. Those spreads are the output of years of accumulated flow at each operator. A launch broker attempting to undercut the 0.1-pip pro benchmark from day one would be pricing below its wholesale cost — burning venture cash on every trade to subsidise acquisition. That is possible for a limited runway; it is not sustainable and it is not honest pricing.
The counterfactual — the condition under which we would reverse this view — is specific. If Epic Markets discloses at launch that it has secured a prime-brokerage relationship with a tier-one bank guaranteeing wholesale spreads competitive with the operators listed above, and if it publishes those wholesale-side arrangements alongside its retail markup schedule, then the tight-pricing claim becomes credible. Absent that disclosure, promotional launch spreads should be read as subsidy, not structural pricing, and the subsidy will end when the runway does.
Practical implication: if the launch pricing looks better than the established operators' pro-tier pricing, ask what makes that sustainable. The answer determines whether the pricing is real or temporary.
What to Actually Believe Before You Fund an Account
Read the license before the announcement. When Epic Markets files its regulatory paperwork — and it must, in whichever jurisdiction it chooses — read that document. Look up the applicable client-money rules in that jurisdiction. Understand what happens to your deposit if the operator becomes insolvent in year two. That is the primary safety question, and no press release can answer it.
Wait for the terms of service. The account agreement will disclose the execution model, the leverage tiers, the negative-balance protection status, the withdrawal timelines, and the dispute-resolution jurisdiction. Read all of it before depositing. If the disclosure documents are unclear about whether the operator runs a B-book or A-book, that ambiguity is itself information. Established operators like Exness and AvaTrade have public regulator listings and years of published account terms — those are testable. A new operator's terms are only testable after they are written.
Size the first deposit as if it might not return. This is standard practice among Gulf retail traders who have seen broker cycles turn — a first deposit that is small enough to fund a genuine ninety-day evaluation, but small enough that its full loss would not compound. If withdrawals settle cleanly at that size for three months, scale slowly. If they do not, the answer is already visible.
We would reverse our skeptical position on Epic Markets specifically if the following three conditions are met at launch: the operating entity is licensed under a tier-one regulator with published client-money segregation rules, the terms of service explicitly disclose the execution model and the specific liquidity-provider relationships, and the pricing schedule is presented alongside — not below — the wholesale-cost benchmark from the LP tier. Until those three documents appear, the announcement is a founding cheque and a résumé. Neither is a broker.
FAQ
What does "pre-seed" actually mean for a CFD broker's operational capacity?
Pre-seed is the earliest institutional funding round, typically covering the first twelve-to-eighteen months before revenue. For a CFD broker, US$10M funds the licensing process, technology build, initial hiring, and marketing runway. It does not scale to weathering a serious client-funds stress event, and it is not the same balance sheet as segregated client deposits. Treat pre-seed as founding runway, not solvency capital.
Which regulator will Epic Markets file under, given the founders' US background?
This is not disclosed in the announcement and cannot be inferred from the founders' backgrounds. US retail CFD regulations under CFTC/NFA are prohibitively restrictive for a globally-targeted retail CFD business — leverage capped at 50:1 on majors, CFDs on equities banned for US retail. Almost all new global-facing CFD entrants file under tier-one European regulators plus offshore licences for international clients. Wait for the filing to confirm.
How does Epic Markets' potential offering compare to established Gulf-facing brokers on leverage?
Established operators disclose specific leverage ceilings — Exness at 2000:1, FBS at 3000:1, HF Markets at 1000:1, AvaTrade at a more conservative 400:1. Epic Markets has not published leverage terms as of this writing. Once disclosed, compare against those benchmarks, but understand that maximum leverage is a marketing headline; the leverage you actually receive depends on account tier, jurisdiction of the operating entity, and position size.
Should Gulf retail traders open an account with a new broker during its launch promotional period?
Historically, launch pricing on new brokers has been subsidised — spreads below the operator's own wholesale cost, funded by venture runway. That pricing ends when the subsidy ends. If you open during the promotion, size the deposit as a genuine test — small enough to survive a full loss, large enough to run a real ninety-day evaluation of withdrawal settlement and execution behaviour. Never treat launch pricing as the sustainable pricing.
Does Citadel's involvement mean the retail broker will have institutional-grade execution?
No. Citadel's market-making and hedge-fund businesses operate on architectures fundamentally different from retail CFD dealing. Institutional pedigree in the founding team does not translate to any particular retail dealing-desk model — that decision is set by the executive team, regulator constraints, and liquidity-provider economics after launch. The founders' background is credibility, not a technical disclosure about how orders will be handled.
Will Epic Markets offer Islamic swap-free accounts for Gulf clients?
Not disclosed. Every established operator in the grounding — Exness, AvaTrade, FBS, FXTM, HF Markets — offers Islamic account structures for Gulf clients, but the mechanics vary by operator and often carry administration fees or wider spreads that offset the swap. If swap-free trading is essential to your account structure, wait for Epic Markets' specific disclosure and compare the total cost against established operators' documented swap-free pricing, not just the headline swap-free label.
What is the single most important document to read before depositing with any new CFD broker?
The client agreement issued by the specific operating entity you are contracting with. Not the parent company's press release, not the group website's regulator page, but the entity-specific agreement. That document names the licensing regulator, the client-money regime, the dispute jurisdiction, the execution model disclosure, and the withdrawal terms. It is the only document that binds the operator legally to a service standard, and reading it before depositing is the single highest-return act of due diligence available to retail.